VFX Lesson

comp-1_1

In a brief 20 minutes lesson we learned how to do this in After Effects with a skull. I started up Illustrator and used the pencil tool to create the vector art and started drawing out all the shapes. It took me about two hours to include small details so that it didn’t look so boring on it’s own. Once I finished drawing in Illustrator I saved it and left it so the vectors are still there, then I imported it into After Effects, turned it into a single vector object and then set it to reveal singularly rather than simultaneously. Finally I put it into Media Encoder to export it as a GIF.

I’m happy that my file saved after the computer crashed, and I could have been more careful about my line work. I’d improve it by using actual hair as a reference instead of just doing anything.

Leave a Reply

